Next® cranks up security and manageability with built-in user groups

In our ongoing efforts to make your Next® as secure and easy to run as possible, we now take another step with built-in user groups.

No matter if you run your Next® by yourself, at a hosting partner, or with us as Next® as a Service, different people needs to take care of certain aspects of running the solution.

Someone need to secure that the servers running Next® has sufficient storage capacity. Others need to make sure that the Next® software is kept up-to-date. Someone must see to that everyone have the correct access rights to documents. And someone, needs to adjust the approval limits for the people that approve supplier invoices.

It has always been like this. You have always managed. Now we just make it a little easier with built-in user groups:

 

  • Next® Everyday Users
  • Next® Systems Operations
  • Next® Product Admins
  • Next® Product Admins with security access
  • Next® Security Council
  • Next® Owners with unrestricted access


Next® Everyday Users

Everyone enrolled in this group will be notified about new features and planned outages in the Next® services. Membership does not give you any other privileges. 

Next® Systems Operations  

People you enroll in this group will be notified whenever Next® encounters operational challenges. For example if the servers running your Next® are running low on storage capacity. This does not relief your IT Operations staff for monitoring the servers, but it helps us protect the integrity of Next®.

You must have at least one person enrolled in this group for Next® to run. If you run Next® as Service, we take care of this part. 

Next® Product Admins

Persons in this group will have access to the complete Administration module in Next®, except for security certificates and API keys used for integration. Membership does not give access to any documents. 

Next® Product Admins with security access

Persons in this group will have access to the complete Administration module in Next®, including vital security certificates and API keys used for integration. Membership does not give access to any documents. If you run Next® as Service, we take care of this part. 

Next® Security Council

Membership of this group lets you monitor that Next® is and stays secure. The people you enroll in this group get no additional access to documents or features. They will, however, be notified every time Next® encounters a security related event. When people are added to or removed from this (and other sensitive) user group is one such type of security events. 

You must at all time have at least one person enrolled in the group for Next® to run. Otherwise all uses will see a banner with a warning.


It's not to be intrusive, but running Next® without members in the Security Council group is simply not safe. 

Next® Owners with unrestricted access

The security built-into Next® is strong and without any backdoors. This means that if you lose the credentials to the one and only user who can access a specific document in Next®, we have no way of helping you. In order to give you the ability to recover your documents, members of the user group - Next® Owners with unrestricted access - have unlimited access to all documents in Next® regardless of the defined permissions.

During normal operations, no one should be enrolled in this group.

When you enroll a person to this group (and everyday this membership exists) a security notification will be sent to all members of the Next® Security Council group.

When you are signed in with unrestricted access, this is clearly marked in the top bar of your screen. 



WARNING: You have unrestricted access.

You are signed into Next® as a member of the group
Next® Owner with unrestricted access.
Your activity is being logged. 




While the group - Next® Owners with unrestricted access - becomes available with the January '22 release, it will not allow unlimited access until you install the February '22 release.





Future enhancements

Every time the members of Next® Owner with unrestricted access, Next® Admins, Next® Admins with security access, or the Next® Security Council is changed, a notification is sent to the Next® Security Council.

In a later release we will enforce 4-eyes approval to make the above changes.

For the techies

The new user groups are built-into Next®. This means that you cannot modify or delete them. But of course, you get to decide who are members of each group.  This new configuration origin - Next® built-in, Nextway standard, or Custom - is a new feature introduced with the January '22 release.  

Commercial terms and conditions

This new feature is available at no additional cost, to users with license and active service plan for Next®.

Disclaimer

Despite our best efforts, we may be forced to change both content and expected delivery of future product updates without notice.  


Details

Title:

Next® cranks up security and manageability with built-in user groups 

Type:

New feature

Status:

Released

Release time:

January 2022

Affected products:

Next® Contracts
Next® Emails
Next® Enterprise Archive
Next® Invoices
Next® Mailroom

Audience:

Next® admins
Next® users
Next® specialists
Next® 
architects
Next® operational specialists

Classification:

Public

Responsible product manager:

Kim Hellum

Updated:

4.02.2022

By:

Kim Hellum